Home > Cheese fondue > Intro.EnglishFrançais
Site map
HomeReturn
Home > Cheese fondue > IntroductionEnglishFrançais
Site map
HomeReturn

The ingredients

Introduction
The cold season is coming quickly, but as you (should) know, in our regions (read Switzerland), we have an antidote: cheese fondue.

There are almost as many recipes for fondue as there are people preparing it, and just as many stories on its origin, the pooling of bread, cheeses and wine, which makes the whole - the fondue - superior to the sum of its ingredients.

Snowy scenery
Brrrr...

Fondue ready on a lamp
Everything's ready

Cheese fondue tradition has deep roots in our regions, and its principle is so universally recognized that the bourguignons (Bourgogne regions people), the Chinese, and others have tried it, but without success. Their meat does not melt in an tasty and creamy mixture, and just does not generate the same good mood; quite the contrary in fact since with these so-called fondues, there is always someone to steal another's fork! (Note: yes I know, fondue bourguignonne was invented by a Swiss).

There are of course really bad fondues, such as those my aunts would prepare when I was young, pretexting that children should not know the taste of wine: water based fondue, apple juice based fondue and even vinegar based fondues! don't try them.

There are also ready made fondues, in bags or cans. Their use is only to be considered in extreme cases (the Swiss army serves canned fondue to its soldiers).

On a more serious side, there is an exception in the world of fondues, it is the fondue fribourgeoise, served just warm, never hot, sometimes simply water and cheese, more often half water, half wine, and using only vacherin fribourgeois as a cheese. It is very good, but often difficult to digest for non-fribourgeois.

The other fondues are based on a variety of cheese mixes, with, as for origin the fondue moitié-moitié (half-half), namely Gruyere and Emmental cheeses. Emmental cheese is the one with the large holes, Gruyere cheese has no holes or only a few very small ones.

The main advantage of this particular fondue is that it is almost fully lactose free, as lactose is a source of digestive problems for some people. However there are other options. Replacing part or whole of the Emmental by Vacherin Fribourgeois, improves the creamy texture and taste, but the Vacherin Fribourgeois not being a hard cheese does contain lactose that can affect sensitive people.

Thus, there is a infinity of cheese fondue recipes, however for me, the best one is of course the one made by my mother. So I asked her for the recipe so that I could provide it to you, and the conversation went along these lines:

- You need wine.
- How much?
- Enough.
- Precisely?
- One glass per person.
- Large glass?
- Small.
- Such as this one? (showing a regular Swiss white wine glass)
- No larger.

The conversation continued on the same model for the other ingredients.

In conclusion, neither me nor you will ever know the real secret of her cheese fondue, which she made essentially by instinct.

The second best fondue, on my fondue scale, is mine. Many people around the world can testify to it and I hope to count you among them soon.

The only rule, which by the way does not only apply to cheese fondue, is that for good food, you need good ingredients!

Improvised fondue on a construction site
Fondue on a construction site

Another improvised fondue on a construction site
Another fondue on a construction site

  • Snowy scenery
    Brrrr...Snowy sceneryBrrrr...
  • Fondue ready on a lamp
    Everything's readyFondue ready on a lampEverything's ready
  • Improvised fondue on a construction site
    Fondue on a construction siteImprovised fondue on a construction siteFondue on a construction site
  • Another improvised fondue on a construction site
    Another fondue on a construction siteAnother improvised fondue on a construction siteAnother fondue on a construction site

Home > Fondue fromage > Intro.EnglishFrançais
Carte du site
HomeRetour
Home > Fondue fromage > IntroductionEnglishFrançais
Carte du site
HomeRetour

Le décor

Introduction
La mauvaise saison approche à grands pas, mais comme vous le savez, dans nos régions (la Suisse), nous avons un antidote : la fondue.

Il existe presque autant de sortes de fondues que de gens qui la prépare et il existe tout autant d'histoires sur son origine. Cependant, à la base de ces histoires, on retouve toujours la mise en commun de pain, de fromage et de vin, ce qui fait que le tout - la fondue - est supérieur à la somme de ses ingrédients.

Il neige
Brrrr...

fondue prête sur un réchaud
Everything's ready

La tradition de la fondue est bien ancrée dans nos régions, et le principe en est tellement universellement reconnu que les bourguignons (*), les chinois et quelques autres s'y sont essayés, mais sans succès. Leur viande ne fond pas en un gouteux mélange onctueux, et ne saurait créer la bonne humeur de la même manière; bien au contraire, puisque dans ces soi-disant fondues, il se trouve toujours quelqu'un pour piquer la fourchette de l'autre !
(*) Oui, je sais, la fondue bourguignone est la création d'un Suisse.

Il y a bien entendu les très mauvaises fondues, celles que mes tantes me servaient dans ma jeunesse, sous le prétexte que les enfants ne doivent pas connaître le goût du vin : fondue à l'eau, au jus de pomme et même au vinaigre ! n'essayez pas.

Il y a aussi les fondues toute prêtes, en sachets ou en boites, leur utilisation n'est à envisager que dans les cas extrêmes (l'armée suisse sert de la fondue en boite à ses troufions).

Plus sérieusement, il y a une exception dans le monde des fondues, c'est la fondue fribourgeoise, servie tiêde, jamais chaude, quelquefois simplement eau et fromage, plus généralement mi-eau mi-vin blanc, et comportant uniquement du vacherin fribourgeois. C'est très bon, mais souvent difficle à digérer pour les non-fribourgeois.

Les autres fondues sont à base de divers mélanges de fromages, avec pour origine la fondue moitié-moitié, soit un mélange de gruyère et d'emmental. L'emmental est celui avec des gros trous, le gruyère n'en a pas ou que de très petits.

L'avantage de cette fondue et qu'elle est quasiment exempte de lactose, source de problèmes digestifs pour certains. Cependant il y a d'autres possibilités. Le remplacement partiel ou total de l'emmental par du vacherin fribourgeois améliore l'onctuosité et le goût, mais le vacherin fribourgeois n'étant pas un fromage à pâte dure, il contient du lactose qui peut gêner les personnes sensibles.

Il existe donc une infinité de recettes de fondue, cependant pour moi, la meilleure est bien entendu celle de ma maman. Je lui ai donc demandé sa recette pour vous la transmettre, et ça a donné quelque chose du genre :

- Il te faut du vin.
- Combien ?
- Assez.
- Mais encore ?
- Un verre par personne.
- Grand verre ?
- Petit.
- Comme ça ? (moi, montrant un petit verre à vin blanc)
- Non plus grand.

La conversation s'est déroulée identique sur le sujet des autres ingrédients.

La conclusion est que ni vous, ni moi ne connaîtrons jamais le vrai secret de sa fondue, qu'elle dosait essentiellement d'instinct.

La seconde meilleure fondue, dans mon échelle des fondues est la mienne. Beaucoup de gens de par le monde peuvent en témoigner, et j'espère bientôt vous compter parmis ceux-ci.

La seule règle, qui ne s'applique d'ailleurs pas qu'à la fondue, est que pour faire de la bonne cuisine, il faut de bons ingrédients !

Fondue improvisée sur un chantier
Fondue sur un chantier

Une autre fondue improvisé sur un chantier
Une autre fondue sur un chantier

  • Il neige
    Brrrr...Il neigeBrrrr...
  • fondue prête sur un réchaud
    Tout est prêtfondue prête sur un réchaudTout est prêt
  • Fondue improvisée sur un chantier
    Fondue sur un chantierFondue improvisée sur un chantierFondue sur un chantier
  • Une autre fondue improvisé sur un chantier
    Une autre fondue sur un chantierUne autre fondue improvisé sur un chantierUne autre fondue sur un chantier